Action plans

In 2011 the National Road Safety Committee launched the first Safer Journeys Action Plan (for 2011-2012). This has been followed by the second Safer Journeys Action Plan (for 2013-2015) and the third and final Safer Journeys Action Plan (for 2016-2020).

The focus of these action plans are on the initiatives that will have the greatest impact in reducing crashes and trauma.

The action plans are not intended to be a comprehensive list of all work that is being undertaken by the Ministry of Transport, NZ Transport Agency, NZ Police, ACC and other government partners.

In the Safer Journeys strategy there are 11 areas of high or medium concern, and two areas of continuing/emerging focus. The areas of high and medium concern are the major focus for the action plans with most of the actions assigned to the four core road safety partner agencies listed above.

Who's involved?

Ultimately, road safety is the responsibility of all New Zealanders. The partner agencies have a key role in road safety and in the implementation of the Safer Journeys strategy and action plans, along with regional transport committees, local authorities, and community organisations. Processes such as road safety action planning provide collaborative approaches to achieving road safety outcomes. But action plans should also be a guide for local communities, private companies and other organisations.